Fun · Tags

2016 reading challenge

Hi, everyone! Happy end of 2016. Hopefully, you read all the books you wanted and they weren’t disappointing. So this year I moved schools (twice), for my friend and I to keep in touch we decided to do a reading challenge. I live in Ontario, Canada so the challenge might be different somewhere else. I should have probably written this in the beginning of the year and followed up at the end of the year but I didn’t think of that so… I will do that now!

The reason I did the challenge was for 2 reasons. 1) I wanted to keep in touch with a friend who also enjoys reading to read (we have book names to call each other, I am Chaol and she is Celaena) because I was moving schools. I wanted to have someone to talk to about books because I had no one to talk to and I thought that would be a cool idea cause I have never done something like that. 2) I wanted something to make me read more. Don’t get me wrong, I love reading and always will but it’s hard to keep up with school and life and to truly enjoy reading. Every time I sat down to read, it felt so good and I appreciated every moment more. Over the years, the number of books I read in a year just kept falling. From 78 in 2014, 46 in 2015 to 23 in 2016. Which really disappoints me because that means I missed out on so many books. Anyways, I will try to do better next year and maybe even do another challenge.

The reason we started from February was that we couldn’t do anything because of exams. Also, they are not in order because we mixed them around depending on what we wanted to read that month. Chaol is me and Celaena is my friend, so here is what we read…

 

Month Challenge Chaol’s book Celaena’s book
February Read a book that you can finish in a day. The Murder of an Angel by James Patterson ✔️ Legend by Marie Lu

✔️

March A book chosen by a bff. Ruby Red by Kerstin Gier ✔️ Prodigy by Marie Lu ✔️
April A book published before you were born. Lord of the Flies by William Golding ✔️ The Importance of Being Earnest by Oscar Wilde ✔️
May A book published this year The Crown✔️ Trials of Apollo ✔️
June Read a book you’ve read at least once. Matched ✖️ Blood of Olympus✖️
July A book you’ve heard good things about Kiss& Blog by Alyson Noel ✔️ This Savage Song by Victoria Schwab ✔️
August A book recommended to you by a librarian or a book seller Harry Potter and the Cursed Child  ✔️
September A book you been meaning to finish The Raven Boys ✔️
October A book that was at some point banned
November A book you own but have never read.
December A book that intimidates you.

As you saw, things went down hill around September because of school  but hopefully I do better next year. I wish you all the best if everything in 2017, have a happy new year!

Leave a Reply

